Tindale's Catalogue of Australian Aboriginal Tribes
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W X  Y Z 
Dangu (NT)
LocationYirrkala Mission area and generally around Cape Arnhem, Melville Bay, and Port Bradshaw. A loose linguistic grouping of clans (mala) of both Jiritja and Dua moieties distinguished from others by the form of their demonstrative pronoun 'this.' Care should be taken to distinguish it from the Djangu, another group of clans about Arnhem Bay. Schebeck (1971, and MS) lists six clans. Dua moiety: 1. Galpu (Galpu, Galbu, Kalpu). 2. Golumala. 3. Ngajimil (Ngayimil, Ngeimil, Makkanaimulmi). 4. Riratjingu (Rirratjingu, Rirraljinga, Riraidjango, Wurrulul, Woralul, Urorlurl). Jiritja moiety:5. Lamami (Lamumiri). 6. Wanguri (Wangurri, Wonguri, Wan:guri).
Co-ordinates136°40'E x 12°20'S
AreaNo estimate possible.
ReferencesWarner, 1937; Capell, 1942, 1965; Spence, 1964; Berndt, 1965; Anonymous, 1969; Schebeck, 1971, and MS, Peterson, 1970 pers. comm.
Alternative NamesYirgala (place name, now Yirkalla Mission).
This information is reproduced from NB Tindale's Aboriginal Tribes of Australia (1974). Please be aware that much of the data relating to Aboriginal language group distribution and definition has undergone revision since 1974. Please note also that this catalogue represents Tindale's attempt to depict Aboriginal tribal distribution at the time of European contact.

Collection AA338 Norman Barnett Tindale